Resident Landing Page Image

Resident Grants and Awards

Each year, ASCP recognizes the individuals who have made outstanding, lifelong contributions to the Society. This year, ASCP honors members in several categories for their singular efforts toward the advancement of the organization. ASCP applauds them for their imagination, their tenacity, and their vision.

ASCP also provides unique grant opportunities to qualified residents in pathology. To find out more about ASCP resident grants or how to apply, visit the tabs below.

About the Subspecialty Grants

Subspecialty Grants allow residents to broaden their training experience by exposing them to material not currently available at their institution and by allowing them to work with a prominent pathologist of their selection. Grants can help defray the cost of doing elective rotations at outside institutions. 

Congratulations to the Round 2 recipients of the 2015-2016 Subspecialty Grants:

  • Adeola Tomi-Olugbodi, MD - Drexel University College of Medicine
  • Andrew Norgan, MD, PhD – Mayo Clinic
  • Betty Chung, DO – Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
  • Deepthi Rao, MD – University of Kansas Medical Center
  • Yongjun Liu, MD, PhD – Penn State M.S. Hershey Medical Center

Applications for Round 1 of the 2016-2017 Subspecialty Grants will be available in summer 2016. For specific requirements, see Frequently Asked Questions (PDF). For additional questions, please email

    ASCP’s Resident Representative Leadership Award recognizes two outstanding Residents from the Resident Representative Network for demonstrating leadership and promoting ASCP membership and resident activities. Award recipients will be formally announced during the Michele D. Raible Lecture for Residents at ASCP’s Annual Meeting. Award recipients will receive round-trip airfare, hotel accommodations, and complimentary registration to attend ASCP's Annual Meeting in October.  

    Applications will be available in Spring 2016. For inquiries, please email

    Brett Lowenthal, MD

    Vaidehi Avadhani, MBBS

    William W. Bivin, MD 
    Betty M. Chung, DO, MPH  


    Feriyl Bhaijee, MD
    Rebecca Sonu, MD


    Stephen Hammond, MD
    Boston Medical Center

    Lili Lee, MD
    New York University Langone Medical Center

    Fernando Antelo, MD
    Harbor-USCA Medical Center

    Robin Wirth, MD
    Memorial University (Canada)

    Nicole DeMers, MD
    University of South Florida

    Eric Yee, MD
    Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

    Raja Moti Gidwani, MD
    University of Missouri-Kansas City/Truman Medical Center

    Natalia Golardi, MD

    University of Texas


    Benjamin J. Havard, MD
    Medical University of South Carolina

    Jennifer L. Shuttlesworth, MD
    University of Texas