Awards for Medical Students

ASCP honors exemplary medical students.

ASCP recognizes and rewards excellence in the pathology and laboratory community with prestigious annual awards for all of its member groups, including students. Each year, ASCP awards exemplary medical students at medical schools in the United States, Canada, and Puerto Rico, with the Academic Excellence and Achievement Award.


To enhance the profile of the practice of pathology and attract outstanding medical students into pathology and laboratory medicine, ASCP offers the Academic Excellence and Achievement in Pathology Award.

This award honors medical students who have achieved academic excellence, demonstrated leadership ability, and shown a strong interest in the pathology profession. Ten medical students will be selected to receive this prestigious award. One student will be chosen to receive the Gold Award. Self-nominations are accepted, but official departmental approval is still required by the Pathology Department Chair, Program Director, or Course Director.

Click here to nominate a medical student for the Academic Excellence and Achievement in Pathology Award


Ten outstanding medical students will be selected, with one student chosen as the Gold Award Recipient. The ten awardees will receive:

  • A personalized certificate
  • A copy of the Quick Compendium of Clinical Pathology, 3rd Edition
  • $100 cash award
  • Recognition on the ASCP website and through ONELab Memo

The Gold Award Recipient will also receive a trip to the ASCP 2017 Annual Meeting, September 6-8, 2017 in Chicago, Illinois for formal recognition at the annual Michele D. Raible Lecture for Residents.

Emily McMullen, University of Iowa – Gold Award Recipient

Heather Chen, Western Michigan University Homer Stryker MD School of Medicine

Terri Jones, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Andrew Layman, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Nathanael Lee, Georgetown University School of Medicine

Sara Mottahedan, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

Elise Roche, University of Queensland - Oschner

Juliana Sobczyk, Medical University of South Carolina

Jeffrey Sorelle, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School

Michele West, Medical University of the Americas