ASCP Honors Outstanding Medical Students

ASCP recently honored 10 medical students with the 2013 Academic Excellence and Achievement Award in Pathology. This award honors medical students in years one through four who have achieved academic excellence, demonstrated leadership ability, and possess a strong interest in the pathology profession. In addition, one student received the Gold Award. The Gold Award recipient receives a trip to ASCP 2013 Chicago Annual Meeting along with other prizes.

2013 Award Recipients:

Allison J. Zarbo
Wayne State University School of Medicine
Gold Award Recipient

Jessica L. Baumann
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Memphis, Tenn.

Cody S. Carter
Loma Linda University School of Medicine
Loma Linda, Calif.

Joanna M. Chaffin
Saint Louis University School of Medicine
Saint Louis

Bonnie Choy
University of Rochester School of Medicine
Rochester, N.Y.

Claire J. Detweiler
University of Texas Medical Branch
Galveston, Texas

Austin M. McCuiston
University of Louisville School of Medicine
Louisville, Ky.

Evan S. Stern
West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine
Lewisburg, W.V.

Laura A. Taylor
George Washington University
Washington, D.C.

Douglas B. Walton
Texas A&M HSC College of Medicine
Bryan, Texas