Cody Carter hero

Awards for Medical Students

ASCP honors exemplary medical students.

ASCP recognizes and rewards excellence in the pathology and laboratory community with prestigious annual awards for all of its member groups, including students. Each year, ASCP awards exemplary medical students at medical schools in the United States, Canada, and Puerto Rico, with the Academic Excellence and Achievement Award.

2013 Gold Award recipient, Allison J. Zarbo

To enhance the profile of the practice of pathology and attract outstanding medical students into pathology and laboratory medicine, the American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP) offers a student award recognition program: Award for Academic Excellence and Achievement in Pathology.

This award honors medical students in years one through four who have achieved academic excellence, leadership ability, and a strong interest in the pathology profession. Ten medical students will be selected per year to receive this prestigious award. One student will be chosen to receive the Gold Award. Self-nominations are accepted, but official departmental approval is still required by the Pathology Department Chair, Program Director, or Course Director.

ASCP is now accepting nominations until May 2, 2014. To download a nomination form, click here

    The students selected will receive a personalized certificate of achievement; a copy of the Washington Manual of Surgical Pathology; an Amazon Kindle; and will be recognized on the ASCP website and through a special eNews story on the recipients. The materials will be sent to the address indicated on the award application form via UPS Ground and will be available to present to students at a time designated by the medical institution. One medical student will be chosen as the Gold Award recipient and in addition to the items above, will receive a trip to the ASCP Annual Meeting which includes registration fees, airfare, hotel, and travel expenses, an iPad mini, a personalized plaque and recognition as this year's ASCP Medical Student Gold Award Recipient.

      ASCP recently honored medical students throughout North America with the 2013 Academic Excellence and Achievement Award. Names of winners are listed below. 

      Allison J. Zarbo
      "Gold Award Recipient"

      Waye State University School of Medicine



      Jessica L. Baumann

      University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Medicine



      Cody S. Carter

      Loma Linda University School of Medicine

      Loma Linda


      Joanna M. Chaffin

      Saint Louis University School of Medicine

      Saint Louis


      Bonnie Choy

      University of Rochester School of Medicine



      Claire J. Detweiler

      University of Texas Medical Branch



      Austin M. McCuiston

      University of Louisville School of Medicine



      Evan S. Stern

      West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine



      Laura A. Taylor

      George Washington University



      Doug Walton

      Texas A&M HSC College of Medicine